Afrosays to me

…random excerpts from my communions with the AfroMuse

Six billion neighbours August 21, 2010

Filed under: Poetry — afrosays @ 8:16 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve been all about me so much lately, I’m fed up with myself.

The goddess pulls my ears punitively  like my mother used to do when I was a kid and she shouts swords into each one.

Truth hurts, so I’m distributing plasters as I beat the gong, because AfroSays:

SIX BILLION NEIGHBOURS

are you my neighbour

Are you my neighbour?


“Hello there, Are you my neighbour?”

That’s the question they all seem to be asking at each traffic light stop. Most times, I just wind the windows up because I’m tired of saving the world
“Hi sir, Do you live next to me?”
I think I do, but I don’t want to admit it. I know the truth but I’m going to conceal it.
“Good evening, would you give me a ride home?”
I’m tired of helping, please give it a rest; how many neighbours can one really assist?
“Hi again, I’m sure we’ve not really got a chance to talk but I was hoping that…”
It’s not a crime to hope, you’re allowed to have faith, I’m just hoping that you’re not hoping I’d have your needs met.
“Morning sir, you look familiar, please can you do me a favor?”
He surveys me with the same disposition as I had, four others, He then asks if he’s his neighbour’s keeper
I then remember I’ve got six billion minus one neighbours but I’d only meet a few, I’d been a jerk to four earlier and life gives what is due.
I answer thoughtfully, “Maybe we all are?”

Share

 

3 Responses to “Six billion neighbours”

  1. Nife O Says:

    lmao na wa for you oh…remember what goes around comes around. I can totally feel you though…You need to start wearing dark shades and keep your bb next to you lol…that way you will bone them by pretending that you’re on your phone…

  2. ronke Says:

    Short and nicemmayb we all are truly,bt even with that,u can’t help everybody.hope I’m nt wrong?


Leave a Reply

