Afrosays to me

…random excerpts from my communions with the AfroMuse

Colours April 13, 2011

Filed under: Abstract — Betty @ 6:21 pm
Tags: ,

I’m beating a blue gong today. The color of the skies on a bright day. Let your senses inhale as you drift in time..
Yours, FloatingBetty.

..flashes of...ecstasy...

There was silence.
Then a flash of blue.
It was like a comet. It was gone that fast.
Then it was green. Then red. Then yellow.
A kaleidoscope of colors flashed before her eyes and she gasped in delight in the pure ecstacy of it all.
She giggled.
It occured to her that she knew not where she was; or if she was.
But this thought was banished from her mind almost immediately.
No questions here. Just being.
The flashes of colours increased in intensity and though she felt dizzy, she didn’t shut her eyes against them.
She luxuriated in them, let her grin grow wider and she sighed in joy.
The waking up didn’t come like a jerk. No, it didn’t.
It was like a snow flake falling lazily to the ground.
She felt herself return to her body slowly and when she opened her eyes to the darkness, she sighed.
‘David. Wake up. David!’ She nudged him.
‘Darling, why are you up?’, his voice growled sleepily.
‘David, I had a dream.’
He sat up. For she never dreamt. Could this mean.. ‘What about?’
‘David, I believe.. I believe I saw colors.’
‘And do you still see them?’ He asked tentatively.
‘No, I’m back to the darkness.’
‘Oh.’
He tried to hide the disappointment in his voice. For she had been blind from birth. It was probably just a wish.
She heard it though. But she cared not. For even if it were(was) just for a few moments; she had seen.
And she was happy.
 

31 Responses to “Colours”

  1. 47 Says:

    Nice, Short, precise and captivating.LOVELY.

  2. lekanbaruwa Says:

    Nice piece ……….

  3. damie Says:

    Short, sweet,beautiful!

  4. kechilauren Says:

    Aww..cute..this can also be related to the theory of “its better to be loved than never”..she saw, even if it was for a brisk moment, that moment wud linger forever in her heart.
    Nice post betty nd afrosays..

  5. @oye Says:

    For a short piece it really leaves the mind wandering….when I started reading I thought it was *clears throat* u know? x_x Only to discover otherwise..keep it coming ma’am

  6. sebelle Says:

    nyc

  7. Rera Says:

    Lovely…

  8. ajoke Says:

    i like..

  9. subbysmollz Says:

    Your short stories are always d best stories 🙂

  10. bookoo Says:

    If it were someone else, my mind may have drifted towards intercourse or sumthing along that line. But the character I know that lies beneath ‘betty’ wud write on that so esotericaly u probbly wudnt evn figure till much latr. Buh this piece tho… Is… Beautifuly unrevealing …kinda lyk an alluring nude female silhouette. but more than my fascination, I’m quite curious as to what inspired it. So this, I like. but more, I would love! ☺

  11. sirkellz Says:

    Momentary beauty in a glimmer of hope…brief,sweet moments that ends when reality hits..totally worth the read…nice one Betty!

  12. Dee Says:

    A different side of betty……. Nice

  13. tommielawlar Says:

    Beautiful and precise! Reading along, I’m like yh, what’s she describing now oh?…only to be hit by the reality of her blindness. Mystique! I would say. keep it coming.

  14. opeTeddy Says:

    u have dis nice poetic way ot writting…really nice piece.welldone.

  15. Kesh Says:

    I liked. I actually thought it was an orgasm at first. But then i like the fact that i was wrong. Nice one. 🙂

  16. Wow. I think a good writer can put you right in the shoes of the character. You did that perfectly. It was like I could see the colors with her, n my head went dark when her eyes did…damn.
    Amazing writing Betty.

  17. xoxo_ebire Says:

    lol but i dont understand how kesh nd bookoo thought seeing colours was related to sex…

  18. Temitope Says:

    Pemzy! Nice work as usual (y)

  19. St. Burnish Says:

    Okay, so I return to read AfroSays after forever and a day….and what do I know? There’s a new cast member.

    Beautiful piece!!!

  20. zoey Says:

    Awwwww! I love this piece!XX

  21. The 13th Alchemist Says:

    Love this story.

    I saw colors when she saw. I saw darkness when her blindness was revealed. I saw an afterglow with the last sentence.

    Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

