Afrosays to me

…random excerpts from my communions with the AfroMuse

My Everyday Girl June 29, 2011

Filed under: Scenic — afrosays @ 12:03 pm
Tags: , , ,


First off, thanks for nominating AfroSays for the Nigerian Blog Awards, best collaboration category. Please do vote for us here, it’d mean a lot. There are also other blogs that we think deserve your votes as well, check them out and make up your mind. They are:
The toolsman’s blog (5 nominations),
Chronicles of Dania (2 nominations),
Thoughts from a maverick’s perspective (Best student blog),
My Scroll… You Scroll (Most humorous blog)


Secondly, We have a new category coming up, Spooky Fridays as a follow up to Stories of night from two Fridays ago. Watch out this Friday.


Today’s business is what you expect, what you know accrues to you, even though you’re sometimes wanting the other. This is yours because AfroSays

MY EVERYDAY GIRL

I leaned back into the car seat and waited for her to find her way across the chaotic parking area of the shopping mall. She sluggishly navigated through the crowd for a bit and stopped short of a peeled crossing, mixed in a handful of nondescript pedestrians. With most of the mass of people that crowded the entrance to the mall behind her, I could catch a decent glimpse; she looked better than the pictures she’d sent me.
I had expected that she would be dressed in the expected casual uniform: skinny jeans, tank-top, cheap plastic shades, costume jewelry, carrying a black bag – the adornments of an everyday girl, but she had put a little less and a little more into her look – just a short dress, sandals and a satchel that was probably designer brand. Her hair was full and beautifully unnatural. I liked what I saw.
With the old magazine I had been using to pass time, I shielded my gaze from the impolite glare of the sun that bounced off every willing surface, bathing the day in a hurting white so I could get a better view of her. She seemed unsure of something. She lifted her pretty face and looked around some, then dipped her chin moments after to whip her blackberry out of her satchel. She began to type.
Ping.
“Are you here yet? I can’t see you”
“I’m in the black car across the parking lot from you, the Picanto”
With little effort, she spotted me.
“Oh! I see you. Drive this way, it’d be easier to get out” she waved.
She was right.
“Coming.”
I pulled out of the parking slot that had been quite a feat to snatch up and began to make my way towards where she waited. After finding my way around the convoluted maze of parked and moving cars both, I eventually began to drive closer.
She had found other things to amuse herself with on her phone so she kept at typing as I followed the torpid traffic to where she stood. I did not want to appear too eager just like she wasn’t so I played with the radio as I got nearer.
She was already totally absorbed in her phone when I finally parked right in front of her. I had to honk the horn to catch her attention. She looked up at me for the briefest moment and went back to whatever she was doing.
I took a deep breath as I leaned towards the passenger door and opened it. I’d have to be patient with this one.
“Joyce?”
From the side mirror, I saw a black tank top and a pair of skinny jeans emerge from the group of pedestrians walk quickly towards the open door.
She slid in and smiled as she shut the door. In the sing-song voice I’d come to love over the phone these past few midnights, this everyday girl said.
“Hi Isa!”
I smiled not really knowing why, and replied.
“Hi Joyce…”
You most definitely would like
*All of Us
*Android
*Taye and Juliet
 

27 Responses to “My Everyday Girl”

  1. Nice read. But wait oo, let me guess…it was the wrong girl that entered the ride, shey? #todayispentium-monbo-day

  2. Brownegurl Says:

    Wow! Lool! So Isa’s Joyce wuz an “evryday girl” afterall, with the typical “evryday girl” outfit. Nice one Afrosays!!

  3. 0latoxic Says:

    Beautiful writing as usual Betty, but the end left me wondering a little. Gosta confess, it took Brownegurl’s comment for me to be sure that that was the point. Perhaps the point was not stamped on our minds more securely at the beginning…

  4. Wickliffe X Emmanuel Says:

    L☺L nyc read

  5. Titi Says:

    Why Joyce,why not chantell or sharquida…newaiz nice post btw 🙂

  6. fabiskolobo Says:

    quite confusing bur cool.nyc writeup

  7. tweetkid14 Says:

    Pending

  8. softasilk Says:

    Eya Joyce is just a typical everyday girl when you were wishing she wasnt.

  9. samanthasiren Says:

    First of all, congrats on all your nominees. Betty and Bankole…you guys are AMAZING writers and I seriously hope you guys chase this thing to the end and become real authors. I really mean that.
    I’m ashamed to say I was mind fucked at the end and only caught up after reading the comments
    If that was the intent….you got me.
    It was so descriptive…I could actually feel the reader’s expections…
    Great stuff!

    • afrosays Says:

      Thankee Sam,
      It’s good to have you around again. I seem to be carrying last on writing lucid stories.
      ..and the intent was not to befuddle, I actually aimed for simple 😦

  10. Uche Says:

    Congrats on the nomination. I’ve voted you guys sharp sharp.

    This is a nice post. I got it completely. Way to dash a poor guys hopes Banky.

  11. Good stuff bruv…nice that it wasn’t straight forward…was almost mind fucked…almost…*wink*

  12. tommielawlar Says:

    haha. funny enof i gorrit instantly! wasnt confused a bit. twas funny tho cos i can imagine the imbalance in isa’s head wen he realised his actual girl….

    this is delayed tho. my bb is a weist!

  13. deevarh Says:

    I understood this immediately I read it……tank top and a pair of skinny jeans describe an everyday girl but cheap shades? That’s me saying no…

    • afrosays Says:

      Ahem!
      Dear Deevarh,
      How many everyday girls can afford to invest 50k in a pair of shades?
      The shades don’t have to cost N300 either. You dig?

  14. This one na scam – The girl scam am…Lol! Anyway, I feel his pain. now he’ll be wondering: Shld I dump this one and go chat up that one? A bird in hand is worth two in the bush, but when there’s a humming bird in hand and an ostrich in the bush, One might go after the ostrich…#jusSayin…lol!

  15. kemmiiii Says:

    Ok..Im just going through all your old posts and this is a really nice read..It was quite confusing at the end tho…but I was able to decipher…(y)


Leave a Reply

