Afrosays to me

…random excerpts from my communions with the AfroMuse

Making Conversation II February 20, 2012

Filed under: Scenic — afrosays @ 9:00 am
Tags: , ,


Forgive us as we hone our art, as we take time to shed old skin and put on a new, shimmering guise of aptly crafted alphabets.
Do wait, it shall be worth it.


@JADENTM SAYS: You might have heard the sound before, but listen, as the beat moves your feet in a different rhythm. Let it; let it take you where it will

MAKING CONVERSATION II

...a drink perhaps?

 
Find Making Conversation I here
 
“Interesting fusion of traditional and mixed-media to portray a familiar subject. The question of course, is why we should care about yet another mother and child painting…”
 
“Excuse me? The bar is all the way over there.”
 
“I was thinking more, cocktails, Churrasco’s, tomorrow night?”
 
“Sorry I don’t talk to strangers.”
 
“What, you haven’t heard of me? I am Akilapa, local champion, beef head, jock and jester. The favourite of maidens, the original Oko Omoge…”
 
“I think you mean Ajanaku.”
 
“No, he’s my much less attractive younger brother. Don’t laugh, he’s sensitive.”
 
“But he hunts elephants!”
 
“He sings them to sleep before he kills them. Shh, it’s a secret.”
 
“Who would I tell? I don’t know who you are.”
 
“I’ll tell you everything over drinks.”
 
“I have a drink.”
 
“You might be hungry at some point in the near future…”
 
“Beep! Try again.”
 
“Have dinner with me.”
 
“And they say chivalry is dead.”
 
“I might be in a minute if you say no…”
 
“Oh, what’s that? I think I hear my name.”
 
“Come on! I solemnly swear to open all doors.”
 
“People just don’t stay as dead as they used to.”
 
“Tell me your name.”
 
“Only if it comes with a signed autograph from Ajanaku.”
 
“What, you’d turn down all this for a mere elephant slayer?”
 
“I’ve always had a thing for danger.”
 
“Tell you what, we can discuss the terms over dinner.”
 
“Mmh, I’ve never had tusk before.”
 
“Oh… sorry, we’re all out. Gave out the last piece to another one of Ajanaku’s fans. But Sky Lounge does great sushi?”
 
“I suppose I could settle.”
 
“Great, I’ll drive. Guess what, I open car doors too!”
 
“Handy trick, yes?”
 
“I am exceptionally well trained.”
 
“It’s a driver’s license. It costs five thousand naira, and actual driving know-how is not a prerequisite.”
 
“If I told you my name would you quit trying to bite my head off?”
 
“It’s a free country.”
 
“It’s Deinde.”
 
“Ooh, poor kid!”
 
“It’ll grow on you.”
 
“…Like a fungus.”
 
“What was that? Funke?”
 
“The only Funke I know is sixty and balding.”
 
“I bet she was as pretty as you are when she was … twenty one?”
 
“Cradle snatcher!”
 
“That’s way above the legal age!”
 
“I smell pee.”
 
“Hey, pretty cute Aaliyah’s got the vibe…”
 
“Not my name either.”
 
“Ah, but what is a man without hope?”
 
“Rich.”
 
“I went to school with a Rich.”
 
“Did he break up with Hope?”
 
“You’re running low on jabs, miss anonymous.”
 
“I’m trying to see how long I can keep it up.”
 
“Or you could just tell me your name.”
 
“My name? Hmm. I am the sultry abomination, psaltery like the song of Yemoja’s first heartbreak…”
 
“Oops, that was me. Hope you’re not best friends with her or anything like that?”
 
“Who, Yemoja? Bitch got hers.”
 
“I love a girl that curses.”
 
“Shit, did I?”
 
“Yes, but you were saying…”
 
“Oh yes. I am Enitan, the riddle, the desirable, the disastrous. Daughter of the deep, my eyes will subdue your weak will and bring you to your knees…”
 
“I don’t think you meant ‘eyes’ just then.”
 
“They’ve been known to have many names…”
 
“There’s a few things I like to call them.”
 
“Give me five. Ten seconds. Go.”
 
“This is a trap.”
 
“You pussy!”
 
“Er… I’m just going to keep quiet at this point.”
 
“And what am I supposed to do for entertainment?”
 
“You could tell me your name, but I may have a heart attack and die.”
 
“Or just a hard on.”
 
“Death by …disclosure?”
 
“If stiffies were wishes!”
 
“Sorry, I haven’t heard that saying.”
 
“Tell you what,”
 
“…As long as it’s not your name.”
 
“It’s Enitan.”
 
“I think my heart just stopped.”
 

Find the art of @JadenTM here
 
 

 

8 Responses to “Making Conversation II”

  1. raihanah Says:

    This girl is my kind of girl 😀

  2. thetoolsman Says:

    wow… *applause*
    I’m a sucker for intelligent dialogue and screenplay in movies. This right here is just…. for a second I imagined Jude Law as Akilapa and Julia Roberts as Enitan (I know, I know)…
    Good stuff..

  3. dhamilolaspeaks Says:

    I loved this
    cool dialogue!!

  4. Jad♫n™ Says:

    Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  5. Bigboiler Says:

    Honestly, this is quite intelligent and mentally tasking. I love The writing style too buh i’m seriously tryna understand the message it conveys.

  6. MD Says:

    Aunty Enitan is just Looonnngg!LOL…Looveeet! Proud of my Bebe (y)

  7. lo Says:

    Loved it…christ, bigboiler you have a problem with it because it is intelligent and challenges you to actually “pay attn” to the dialogue?….see this is the problem w/ kids these days…i really hope that’s what you are ^_^…thats the only excuse to be tolerated 🙂 people always wanting to be spoon fed* and we wonder why our education system is lagging behind.


Leave a Reply

