Afrosays to me

…random excerpts from my communions with the AfroMuse

The Truth Teller February 28, 2012

Filed under: Scenic — Betty @ 11:24 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

thatdarkBetty: Today, I beat the gong of non-absolutes.. Listen.
 
THE TRUTH TELLER

 
The problem she had with Joshua was that he told the truth.
 
She met him through her cousin and when after their first date, he had pulled her close and kissed her and said he wanted her for himself; she had come gushing to me. “He’s not like the others, no fronting whatsoever.” I was only glad she’d stopped being so finicky about men. She grinned wide and laughed a lot; her eyes glinting with hope and liquid adoration.
 
When she strode into my house and plopped down on my couch, her forehead in furrows; I had immediately assumed it to be a familiar end to a short story. But she began to speak of how he cradled both her hands in his and looked into her eyes- her soul, she corrected- and said vehemently how he could not and would not live without her. She had looked up from her storytelling and I saw tears glisten in her eyes; she seemed perplexed and when she described him as ‘desperately honest’, I had thought it was an odd combination. Desperately honest? But it was then a strange smile lit up her face. I have never seen her that happy; she practically beamed as though a light bulb had been switched on inside of her.
 
“Do you know what it’s like?” She asked me after she had relayed how he’d spent the previous night telling her all the brave and horrible things he had ever done. “To find a man who tells you the truth… About everything?” He was candid and sincere she said; he made her want to uproot her puny morals and start again.
 
So when she came back to my green couch and curled into a ball, shivering with fears that stemmed from underneath her lacey blouse. I was more than slightly taken aback. Explain it to me, I pleaded. What went wrong?
 
“Nothing,” she said.
 
And quoting her words back to her, I reminded her of his honesty; how pure and rare he was; how happy he made her. But she only flinched with each word, as though I was punching her belly. She raised a palm to stop my flow of words.
 
And then she said- “That’s the problem. When the love dies, will he hesitate to tell me he feels no more for me?” I moved to speak but she stopped me. She had never said she knew his love was eternal, she had said his honesty was. And so, she was afraid. She was scared that he wouldn’t do her the favour of being quiet when he no longer loved her so passionately. She was scared he would tell her when she was no longer attractive and when he would sleep with his secretary. And when he would take a bribe and then share all of his fears and doubts and worries and that it would overwhelm her. That his honesty would crush her with its startling clarity and piercing starkness.
 
And looking in her eyes, there was no shaking this terror. So, I poured us red wine in huge mugs and snuggled in beside her and said nothing. She took a long sip and said to me, “Don’t we all need to be lied to? A little? I think so.”

 
 

 

17 Responses to “The Truth Teller”

  1. Iyiola Says:

    I really like this. This is a whole new level you have gotten to…I think. XoXo

  2. leonmacedon Says:

    One more dead virtue.. Honesty.

  3. terdoh Says:

    “I’m brutally honest with my girlfriend. It gets to a point where I’m afraid that I’ll hurt her with the truth. Even though I have to reassure and reassure her so many times that I love her, sometimes I can’t help but think that maybe a little lie would go a long way to protect my greatest investment…

    …her heart”
    -Ben

    Yeah. Great post.
    -Terdoh

  4. blogoratti Says:

    Interesting read, love is a beautiful thing no doubt -even though scary at times.

  5. TheGreyGenesis Says:

    Subtle things I noticed/loved about/while reading this…

    — The way only One name was Mentioned in the entire tale

    — The way I thought the narration was being done in the 3rd Person until I got to the third or Fourth sentence and discovered the actual narrator of the tale

    — The total, yet indirect projection of attributes into the character; Her insecurity for example. (Where other Normal Pessimists see a half empty cup? She sees no cup at all. None. Not even a small Plastic one 😦 )

    I liked it. 😀

  6. astorre Says:

    Yes. Yes, we all do need to be lied to. A bit.

  7. qama Says:

    Mmmm…. Absolute honestly can burn! There will be times when u’re not so sure what u feel. But when u love someone… It really never ends.

  8. Highlandblue Says:

    That was how all of you allowed Betty to bewitch you. Just like that? Kmt

    Honesty is the only thing that would make you jump and be sure the other person is there to catch you. If he does you the favour of telling you he can’t catch you romantically anymore, believe me, he loves you too much to let you jump and fall. Love that nigga, yo! Ain’t no sterner stuff than the stuff an honest man is made of. “An honest answer is like a kiss on the lips.” (Scriptural verse)

    And for some weird reason, my mind goes to the Preying Mantis.

    • mizztosin Says:

      But at some point won’t you hate this honesty you’re talking about……. Not saying he should lie……. Just not hit d nail on d head so often!

      But @lst wt him she always knows where she stands……

  9. foluwa Says:

    Whao. I wouldn’t call it lying exactly tho, I fink he should be more tactful with the emotional things that would affect her directly. But being honest is still a good virtue.

  10. musingsofalily Says:

    i’ll still want the truth from my partner. It’s better the truth than to deliberately deceive.

  11. missfadesomi Says:

    Pemi! So upset. I do not like this story. The girls are deceivers that’s why. And personally I think the girl must be bi or a lesbian. And her friend too? Noticing things: Glistering eyes? Lacey blouse? She raised a palm to stop your flow of words? Come on!
    I once had someone who was forever honest but dude has some egocentric problem… so if the dude is honest alone, and well cute, I’d take him. I’d rather know that he’s sleeping around than ponder if he is and I really doubt honest guys (in a beautiful relationship; where the girl isn’t a gold digging weyrey) give a bubble about other girls.
    Still like your writing of course.

  12. 0laToxic Says:

    Noone ever ‘needs’ lies.

    Honesty is not stating the truth ALL the time, it’s just simply stating the truth. Dishonesty is deliberately misleading a person (simply put, lying) and I do not advocate such.

    However, holding back the truth (without presenting a lie in its place) is in some cases, tactical, in others, being diplomatic, and in yet others, wisdom.

    Wisdom is good.

  13. Jaden™ Says:

    This amused me. Yes, some people need to be lied to – however I think she really needed to not be told the truth quite so much, as opposed to hearing an actual lie.
    So, omission over falseness…
    I put the link on my status and one of my friends thought I’d written it about a mutual friend! lol. Had to correct that immediately. That’s how relatable it is. Really enjoyed it 🙂

  14. lo Says:

    @missfadesomi….the gender of the narrator was never revealed….as far as I am concerned…the narrator is josua ^_^..speaking about his relationship with this girl in the third person…..that’s my take on it based on the ending……which i love…I believe the biggest thing in a relationship is not honesty but knowing how to communicate. If you can master that, you will know how to tastefully communicate bad news to your loved one..whether its hey sweetheart you are gaining weight oh..lol…or…i know you think this project will work but its really not feasible try something else..and etc…There’s always a better/tasteful way to approach every situation and that comes down to the art of communication.

  15. Gemini Says:

    Golden rule is truth, as its the highest virtue so honesty from your partner is the ultimate relationship in the purest sense. Few people have the honesty within themselves to realise this. If someones truly the right person for you, they simply will be unable to lie to you as it will be as though they are lying to themselves, so literally hurt them. If a relationship needs lies to survive, in all honesty their not the right person for you.


Leave a Reply

