Afrosays to me

…random excerpts from my communions with the AfroMuse

Sovereign July 6, 2011

Filed under: The Trench — afrosays @ 3:35 pm


The goddess weeps in my hands and I hold her as she drowns in wave after wave of despondent emotion.
It’s a lonely moment in this dark castle. I open the windows so her cries echo into the night.

Come one. Come some. Those who hear, only.

This gong is for you. Its name is clarity. Convoluted clarity. AfroSays:
SOVEREIGN

Sovereign

“Say a word and it will be my name”

“Sovereign”

“That should do. Tell me mortal, what do you want, more than anything else in the world?”

“What is outside of it.”

“Tell me again, how would you like to live?”

“Beautiful. And wild too, like a mountain flower.”

“And how would you like to die?”

“Quick and glorious. Just after the sun is highest, just before it grows tired of glowing and begins to return to its mother.”

“My name will be your name; you will be sovereign! You will be born a man of little means, you will excel at the arts because your soul will be here, with me, where your treasure is. Because. You will have wine and men and women and the power in that influence. You will die at the hands of your men so that all men do not forget your art. Your art shall be battle.”

He lived and fought and led by fighting, Asegun did. He conquered barbaric peoples and established governments he didn’t rule. Governments for the people. Men followed him. Women followed him and his men. He conquered the world, the sovereign.

And after there was nothing else to conquer, he had to witness the work that his hands had made. Civilization was the product of his art. But civilization brought with it politics and corruption and treachery. A holy man could not survive those times where ruthless cunning wielded more power than blade. Asegun became the enemy; his puritanical philosophy became heresy. The sun had began its descent.

He was executed publicly, on a yellow day, gloriously burnt at stake for all to see, an enemy of his creation.

A century later, they were all barbarians again, searching for another sovereign.


CLUES

There is a creator. There is a man. There is the life he lived. There is the world he lived in. There is the end of him.

Welcome to the new category, The Trench. These is my real art. I write them often and share them with only a few close minds. Minds that can vibe with mine. These same minds encouraged me to share them with you. Thank them or do not.

DON’T FORGET TO VOTE FOR US AT THE
NIGERIAN BLOG AWARDS

...coming soon...

 

38 Responses to “Sovereign”

  1. #Deep. man is in constant need of a messiah.
    However good is not of the world, that’s why the good die young.

    • afrosays Says:

      …and he’s the first! Interesting perspective.
      i love reading different perspectives. I like this one, the good die young.
      Someone’s told me that before.

  2. i like the way this reads… its summarized no doubt and it feels like a savior story…living long enough to become the villain, or the society he created turned against him.

    • afrosays Says:

      Baba, it’s not summarized oh!
      This is the writing style for Trench stuff. Mostly ‘Escapey’
      And your comment reminds me of Lost, Coldplay Ft. Jay Z

  3. iamsamsie Says:

    I got the creeps just reading this..I would like a peek inside ur head ..a minute only.

  4. ibetapassmynebo Says:

    Hmmmmmmm!

    Cool one (y)

  5. Myne Whitman Says:

    This reads like the beginning so I’ll comment my reserve for now. πŸ™‚

    • afrosays Says:

      It’s definitely the beginning not they’re all gonna be different.
      Unlike you, I get distracted too easily, I can’t write a long story.
      (My first novel of two-three months is still in its fourth chapter)

  6. This is too much knowledge for anyone! This is beautiful! I love the flow of words sir!

  7. Slim Says:

    Yelz! Yelz!! I’m happy to be a ‘close mind’ πŸ˜€

  8. @bule_jr Says:

    ‘The day the world stood still’. #deep. The trench na truly deep trench. Nice.

  9. OYE Says:

    a piece that took over its writer and the hand wasn’t afraid to express the weirdness of its mind, Like most of those mythical stories he made a pact and like most pacts all that can go wrong did. (Y)

  10. Brownegurl Says:

    Different style but still Afrosays. Its a gud one. Sounds like a narration of one of ’em 1500 movies like Troy n Alexander. “The times n trials of Asegun…” β€Žβ€‹Lol!. Anyways, If u do make it a movie, can I get the narrator role? Pleeaaassee? *hopeful puppydog eyes* #okbye (patiently waitin to read more)

  11. I’ve told said you can like to be deep. Sha, my perspective is that you don’t always get what you want. You can push and push, fight as hard as you can, but your not guaranteed that victory. Not forever, anyway.

  12. This is good. I wanted to use the word ‘beautiful’, but you already knew that. Nice work. Art.

  13. Haemlet Says:

    A saviour or a martyr? Bold step into the world of fantasy, nice write up

    • afrosays Says:

      I think he’s more martyr than saviour but in The Trench, anything is anything.
      Thank you sir, look forward to having you over again.

  14. Sick_Sage Says:

    I could swear I commented on this piece 2 hours ago. . .awesome piece man, I love the story it tells; of man’s fickle nature, I love the way it tells it; brevity is the soul of wit… I love the end, which I’ve already stolen. . .there is my ending πŸ™‚

  15. hmm…Man’s longing search for something he never finds. Fickle and confused. I feel this could be extended to best capture the depth. It’s disrespectful of the art to give this portion…but its the Trench anyways.

    • afrosays Says:

      “It’s disrespectful of the art to give this portion”
      CHOI!

      I find it easier to write this kind. Short and subliminal.
      That’s how I can best serve at The Trench.

      Thanks for your point of view too.

  16. lekanbaruwa Says:

    Nice Piece Bro (Y)………. Heroes if they live too long eventually become the Villains #IronyOfLife

  17. kels Says:

    Nice piece banks…..I really love how you use words;I love the story it tells..this is really good mehn..

  18. effy Says:

    nyc….. ilike

  19. The 13th Alchemist Says:

    I like this. A lot.


Leave a Reply

